CompassSport Cup

The Compass Sport Cup is the British Clubs Orienteering Championships started by CompassSport Founder Ned Paul in 1982. Clubs are categorised into small (Trophy - 13 scorers - started in 1988) and large (Cup - 25 scorers) clubs. The Competition consists of an initial round in Spring and a Final round in the autumn. Prizes are provided for by CompassSport. The Competition is administrated by a volunteer co-ordinator on behalf of CompassSport and the Orienteering Clubs of the UK for which the competition was set up to serve. 

For most recent news see also the CompassSportCup co-ordinators website (Peter Guillaume since 2001) at


2024 - CompassSport Cup 2024 Rules and Draw.... see  CSC Competition Pages . The 2024 Final is hosted by PFO (Lancashire) on 20th October.

2023 - BOK hosted at New Beechenhurst, Forest of Dean. SYO retained the Cup with their 2nd biggest ever score, with FVO in 2nd, BOK 3rd. The Trophy was lifted for the first time by SBOC, a mere point ahead of last years winner INT. WIM took 3rd. Louise Adams INT retained the female Golden Boot and M16 from SYO Dylan Jenkinson took the male in 26 seconds. Rapido.

2021 - after various cancellations and postponements through 2020 & 21, SYO hosted the final on 17th October at Tankersley (same venue as 2016). SYO and SROC won the Cup/Trophy. Golden Boots were Jamie Goddard FVO and Rachel Duckworth DVO (again). And a new Golden String Course Trophy was launched won by an AIREinteer.

2019 - MV hosted the Final at Pippingford Park on 20th October. FVO won the Cup and HOC won the Trophy. Adam Conway GO and Rachel Duckworth DVO won the Golden Boots.

2018 - WCH Hosted the Final on Abraham's Valley on 21st October. INT retained the Trophy and SYO won the Cup. Golden Boots were won by Pippa Carcas INT and Jamie Parkinson DEVON.

2017 - DEVON hosted the final at Virtuous Lady. INT retained the Trophy and BOK won the Cup. The Golden Boots were won by two 3-way ties!

2016 - FVO retain the Cup and INTerlopers win the Trophy. Chris Owens DEE and Fanni Gyurko FVO win the Golden Boot Run-in split trophies.

2015 - FVO make history by winning the Cup, leaving South Ribble to win the Trophy at Helsington Burrows, near Kendal.

2014 Competition and it is FVO and BOK again! FVO decide to run up in the Large Clubs Competition for 2015.

2013 Competition - FVO and BOK Triumph!

2012 Competition - Final at Teviothead, RR, Borders, 30th September. Congratulations yet again to FVO and Well Done AIRE for beating LOC and SYO to win the Cup!

Congratulations AGAIN! to SYO and FVO for winning the 2011 Competition on the Longshaw Estate.

Congratulations to FVO and SYO for retaining their titles on Burbage Moor in 2010 too!

  Congratulations to SYO and FVO for retaining their Cup and Trophy at Fineshade, Leicestershire, 2009

National Champions Crowned at the CompassSport Cup & Trophy 2008!

Congratulations to South Yorkshire Orienteers who won the big clubs competition ahead of last years champions Octavian Droobers and to Forth Valley Orienteers who held onto the small clubs trophy making it 5 times since 1983 that they have won. Results are at  Many thanks to OD for hosting this years Final.


Congratulatios to OD for retaining the Cup and FVO for winning back theirs - SARUM having looked after it for last year. The Reebok Golden Shoe run in split competition was won in 19 seconds by Peter Hodkinson M16 NOC and Jonathan 'Creaky' Creak M21 SOS. Well done to all and many thanks to Mick Lucking and his team at NOC who organised the Final.